Read the latest HealthWatch newsletter:  Newsletter 116, Summer 2021

The winners of the 2015 John Maddox Prize for standing up for science are Edzard Ernst, Emeritus Professor at Peninsula Medical School, and Susan Jebb, Professor of Diet and Population Health at the University of Oxford.

Professor Ernst is already a winner with HealthWatch - he scooped our Annual HealthWatch Award in 2005 for his honest appraisal of complementary and alternative medicine.

Since 2012, the Maddox Prize has recognised the work of individuals who promote sound science and evidence on a matter of public interest, facing difficulty or hostility in doing so. The prize is a joint initiative of Nature (where Sir John was editor for 22 years) the Kohn Foundation, and Sense About Science. Sir John Maddox was a passionate and tireless champion and defender of science, engaging with difficult debates and inspiring others to do the same.

Awarding the prizes Sir Philip Campbell, Editor-in-Chief of Nature, said: "In Susan Jebb and Edzard Ernst, we have two individuals who have used their scientific insights as a basis for principled positions about sugar and complementary medicine, respectively. Both of them have felt the intense heat of influential opposition and have stood by their views, at who-knows-what cost to themselves."

The John Maddox prizes were presented on 3rd November 2015 at a packed reception at the Royal Pharmaceutical Society in London. Many HealthWatch members and trustees were present, including Nick Ross, and were joined by other past winners of our own award: Iain Chalmers, David Colquhoun, Simon Singh, and Peter Wilmshurst.

You can read more about this year's John Maddox prize and its worthy winners here.


Are you for science and integrity in healthcare?



Already a member?


If you'd like to help us, please consider a donation.


yt logo rgb light

Mailing lists

If you are a member of the media or connected with a medical school or medical student organisation, please subscribe to our email list to receive occasional emails about press releases, our annual student competition and other news items we think might be of interest to you.
I agree with the Terms and Conditions